Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Delta Dawn
26 novembre 2009

Open Seasons

 

It's almost humiliating to be caught up reading a romantic story when you reach a certain age. However, original English romance is another picture. Intimidated by those alphabetic strings, people usually would forget about the context.  They just throw you a you-can’t-be-serious look and walk away. It does not mean that I like that kind of attentions. I would be more comfortable if I could just fade into the wallpaper and stick my nose into a book. 

Yes, I love reading romance, detective stories, magic series, and suspense. I know those things are easily branded as shallow and even vulgar. However, why should I feel terrible about that? Since I am pretty much a Jane Average, I guess it's OK for me to be a little shallow and vulgar.

   In many cases,  my liking is often turned into a kind of obsession. From Agatha Christie, J.K Rowling, James Patterson, Julia Quinn to my new favorite Linda Howard. I could not stop until I am thoroughly finished with them.

    Opening Season is the twentieth book I read from Linda Howard. So far it is one of my favorite. The hero, Jack Russo, is the typical hero in Linda’s book. Linda really has a thing for muscular guy. Most of her heroes are cops, federal agents, or military men---in her words the Warriors--- strong, tough a bit chauvinistic and definitely possessive in their personal life. They usually live in a kill-or-to-be-killed world until they met their women in life and are immediately turned into mush inside. However, in this book, before met his women in fate, Jack already decided to quit from SWAT and chose to lead a quite life as a police officer in a small town. The heroine, Daisy Ann Minor, is a reserved old maid who follows up everything by rules. But one day she woke up and found that she was already 34 years old. Driven by a desperate need for a change, she decided to start a husband-hunting venture. Perhaps the reason why I love this book is except I don't blurt things out I have so much in common with Daisy ---always trying to be a good girl, clumsy at social graces as well as women style. Until now I still don't know how to wear a decent make-up. In fact I could be another Daisy if I hadn't married myself off before 34.

    Anyway those two are thrown together---not in a dangerous situation which often being told in Linda's book--but in a rather boring daily routine of a quiet down. And thank GOD, it’s not a love at the first sight. Dear, I love Linda Howard, but if I read one more fast-deepening attraction, I probably would throw away the book, period. At the first time when they met, Daisy felt very uncomfortable around Jack because he is crowding her personal space and intimidating her with his size. Jack was not attracted to Daisy either,--interested maybe, but nothing strong and definitely not the attraction as a mare in heat felt in front of a stallion. So things between them are carried away in a more light and easy way. They teased, quarreled and made fun of each other---of course most of time it is Jack who made fun of Daisy. The condom jokes really brought me into a serious tearful laughter.

Like many other stories, murder, suspense and plots are always hand in hand with a romance. Still you can easily find plot holes. Except the romantic part the others really are not Linda’s strong suit. For example, as cautious as

Mayor

Temple

, how could he makee such an indiscreet call and even being taped by his wife? Doesn’t make a sense at all. But it’s a romance story, you can’t expect much, right?

related links: 那些泛黃的書信 | ediedai|學以忘憂| angel's eyes| Donate Your Body to Science or a Body Farm?| Confront Earthquake|Body+Farm Body Farm |When will my heart feel not so empty|人面不知何處去 | On Idleness |沁香一縷|

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité